Uncategorized

K-OS – The Rain, Hallelujah

K-OS.  An artist with meaning in his lyrics.

Enjoy, music for the Soul. This video featured in our column.

The Rain

You say you love me
But then you turn and walk away
All for love
Not even born yesterday
I see you on the streets
And you just pass me by
You think I got no feelings
Think I’m living high
But let me tell ya
I could be on the TV
I could be in them magazines
But it’s never enough
When you felt the touch
Of an angel that’s rocking your soul

When the rain comes down
You’re never around
But when the sun comes up
You always steal the fire
And rain comes down
On this side of town
But people have no feelings
They just run around

They just, they just
We keep chasing dollars
It’s making me holler
I just don’t know
I don’t need a check
I need some respect
So people you know
And the war
And the babies crying
And the car
And the house
And the rings
And the things that don’t mean nothing
You could try to hate
‘Cause if I am right your right down
But I’m here to elevate
I’ll be floating in outer space now

When the rain comes down
Will you be around?
When the sun comes up
Will you always steal my fire?
And rain comes down
On this side of town
But people have no feelings
People

Hallelujah

I walk down these city streets
Just a lonely man inspired
Hoping God will send me water down
To quench this burning fire
If i left here for the mountain
A monastery man
Things will stay the same so I’ll remain
And show just who I am
Seeing things around me
Bonnie and Clyde
Graffiti with no message
Doctors, medicines, or pride
But it doesn’t really matter
They’re blowin’ in the wind
On the cover of a magazine

Hallelujah
Babylon is falling
Babylon is falling

I try to wash my dirty hands
But they won’t come off the water
Hopin’ truth will make me clean and then
Redeem my sons and daughters
Though they’re not yet on the very highway
Pass along below
That’s why I left my memories far behind the lazy road
Seems so simple
Future’s the past
The present all the things we holdin’ on to make them last
But it doesn’t really maeeaahhh (matter)
Blow eeeahh (blowin in the wind)
Couuhaaahhh (with they’re head high)

Hallelujah
Babylon is falling
Babylon is falling

Ahhhhh…

Hallelujah

Man I used to be


I tried it, I couldn’t find it
Now I just wanna get back to me
ohh baby, hoo hoo
Back into the man I used to be

Things that I said I wouldn’t do, I did ’em
Secrets below the service of truth I hid ’em
This man kind is past, but can he erase
The tears of a million years is human race
Of animals, that talk and walk upright
Then slave all day and fall in a trance at night
Flowing the planet, trying to find missing links
Like the men we used to be and always suppose to think
Mysteries, maybe not
It’s getting hot, we better configure the plot, but
I hold a pen with the grip so tight
That’a squeeze the ink out’ta the page, and write a song for the people
Came up from the underground, now I write above on a hovercraft sound
This microphone, like an an amphetamine
Keeping me clean, speaking in dreams
So nature can intervene, just for a scene

I walk along this path alone, my feet hurt
Lost some friends along the way, I did dirt
I went to church, I tried everything
From leaving my body, to watching the birds sing
For hours, so I could feel heavenly powers
Had been across the universe and inside of flowers
But what is it worth, i’m still just a man on the earth
Rappers are acting like man tan
Can I be candid, I can’t stand it
Rap bandit, got heaven acting frantic
I wanna swing my sword decapitate

But what is a man if he acts like an ape
So I sit back, planning my great escape
Load up my EPS and peruse my record crate
The man I used to be, I can only see by looking beyond me
So what is reality, I don’t know

I tried it, I couldn’t find it
Now I just wanna get back to me
ohh baby, hoo hoo
Back into the man I used to be

wrong song
You know what
I woke up in the morning
I took a trip to the corner store
That’s when I heard my calling
But i’d never heard the voice of truth before
So I kept on walking
Pretended I didn’t see
Walked by a window and my reflection said to me
You could try all the same
But you’ll never know this mystery
There’s no pilot on your plane
So you’re not the man you used to be
Try all the game, but you’ll never know this mystery
When your pilot has no plane
Said you’re the man you used to be seen
Holla and ya holla, you folla you fall
Ya holler and ya holla, you folla you fall
Ya holler and ya holla, you folla you fall
Ya holler and ya holla, you folla you fall
Ya holler and ya holla, you folla you fall
Ya holler and ya holla, you folla you fall
Yo, microphones get ripped holding us back
K dash rocking it out, rocking the cold style
Making it up, go along singing my song
Woke up, in the early morn didn’t know what was going on
Whatever, I don’t really know
Flows like an immaculate goat what up, whatever

Check out Sunday Morning

Other songs by K-OS recommended.

Dance in  your car is hard to find for a listen online, but worth a listen if you find it.

Leave a Reply

